Our Stories » 40 stories for 40 years (1976 - 2016)

40 stories for 40 years (1976 - 2016)

Our Stories » 40 stories for 40 years (1976 - 2016)

40 stories for 40 years (1976 - 2016)

In 2016 Cancer Council ACT commemorated 40 years of providing information, education services and support to people affected by cancer in the ACT and region. To mark this momentous occasion, we invited 40 special people to share their stories about their experience with cancer and their connection to Cancer Council ACT. We would like to sincerely thank the 40 people who kindly agreed to share their stories and hope they help to inspire hope, raise awareness and encourage people to support our goal of cancer defeated.



Erin Osborne


Professor Ross Hannan

CCACT Funded Researcher

Irma Brown

In Honour

Melissa Eagles

Girls Night In Host

Luke Kilpatrick


Dr Paul Craft

Oncologist / Board Member

Tracey Markovic

Chair of Relay For Life Committee

Brandon & Angel Truong


John Ryan


Dorothy Waldren

Australia's Bigest Morning Tea Fundraiser

Bridget Roginic


Pauline Segeri

Australia's Biggest Morning Tea Fundraiser

Merv Bartlett

Survivor / Daffodil Day Volunteer

Joan Crook

Wig Service Volunteer

Helen Elliot

Major Donor

Vin Liston

Survivor / Daffodil & Pink Ribbon Day Volunteer

Mary’s Family

Regular / In Memory Givers

Barbara Costa


Karmen Hoy

Regular Giver

Rosemary Drabsch

Relay For Life Fundraiser

Anita Cole


Peter Williams


Caroline McIntyre

Canberra Region Cancer Care Volunteer Coordinator

Major Donors


Teresa Palombi


Christine Brill

President of Cancer Council ACT Board

Carol Wall

Survivor / Regular Giver

Karyn Thompson


Sam Beattie

SunSmart School

Peter Cheah

Major Donor

Alison Meretini

Survivor / Support Group Facilitator

Sandra Hayes


Joan Warren


Tyron Ahern

Scouts ACT / SunSmart Badge

Jackie Spence

Cancer Information Consultant

Robin Edmunds

Relay For Life Commitee

Associate Professor Anneke Blackburn

CCACT Funded Researcher

Jean McIntyre

Regular Giver

Ron Mendelson & John Williams

Foundation Members

Sharon Goodlace